Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Right to Control Trailblazers project in the UK

What is the Right to Control?

The Right to Control is a new legal right for disabled people in the United Kingdom. It gives disabled people more choice and control over the support they need to go about their daily lives. Disabled adults living in seven test areas will be able to combine the support they receive from six different sources and decide how best to spend the funding to meet their needs. Disabled people will be able to choose to:
  • continue receiving the same support
  • ask a public body to arrange new support
  • receive a direct payment and buy their own support
  • have a mix of these arrangements.

What are Trailblazers?

Trailblazers are areas where the Right to Control is being tested, for up to two years. Seven local authority areas are working with Jobcentre Plus to test how the Right to Control will work for disabled adults. The Office for Disability Issues (ODI) will evaluate the Trailblazers which will inform a decision about wider roll out.

Who are the Trailblazers?

Seven local authority areas are testing the Right to Control. Five Trailblazers started on 13 December 2010. They are:
  • Essex County Council
  • Leicester City Council
  • London Borough of Barnet
  • London Borough of Newham
  • Surrey County Council (two parts only: Epsom and Ewell Borough Council and Reigate and Banstead Borough Council).
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council and Sheffield City Council started on 1 March 2011.
Greater Manchester (including Manchester City Council, Oldham Council, Bury Council, Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council and Trafford Council) started on 1 April 2011.
Trailblazers can share information and support each other online by joining the Communities of Practice, a website that supports collaboration across local government and the public sector.

We find this project very promissing, can't wait to read more about thei experiences.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comprehensive Approach on Rehabilitation